Calculating Maximum Altitude

Today I began researching the force of thrust. Although I knew it was going to be a very difficult topic based on the phrase “its not rocket science,” I still believed I had a chance of understanding it. I have never been more wrong in my entire life. My goal was to be able to calculate the acceleration the rocket would ideally have and from there be able to use kinematics to calculate the max altitude it would achieve.

However, after setting up my F = ma equation and finding the different equations for the forces, I quickly discovered I was lacking too much information to even attempt to solve it for acceleration. I started out by plugging in the forces:

F = ma

a = F/m

Image

Image

where

m* = mass flow rate

Ve = exit velocity

Pe = exit pressure

Po = free stream pressure

Ae = area ratio from the throat to the exit

m = mass

g = gravitational constant (9.8m/s^2)

C = drag coefficent

d = density

V = the velocity of the rocket

A = reference area

Unfortunately since our rocket is just a hobby rocket, the only information that the company gave us about the rocket engine is a force vs time graph. So although we have an equation to calculate the acceleration, and all we would have to do is plug it into d = Vot + at^2 to find the maximum height it would reach, we cannot evaluate the equation and thus have no prediction of how high it will go.

Image

Image

http://www.grc.nasa.gov/WWW/k-12/airplane/rockth.html

http://exploration.grc.nasa.gov/education/rocket/drageq.html

1 Comment

Leave a comment